[Main] [Poetry Index]* [Poets] 1991 Denson Revision: [Titles] [Pages] [First Lines]* 2012 Cooper Revision: [Titles] [Pages] [First Lines]*
* Index of the First Line of Each Stanza, the Fifth Line of Eight Line Stanzas, and the First Line of the Chorus

The time is swiftly rolling on

Poet: Berryman T. Hicks, 1835
Meter: Common Meter (8,6,8,6)
Location in The Sacred Harp
Stanza Denson Cooper
The time is swiftly rolling on
When I must faint and die;
My body to the dust return,
And there forgotten lie.

The Dying Minister 83b, Stanza 1

Let persecution rage around,
And Antichrist appear;
My silent dust beneath the ground;
There's no disturbance there.

The Dying Minister 83b, Stanza 2

Thro' heats and colds I've often went,
And wonder'd in despair,
To call poor sinners to repent,
And seek the Saviour dear.

My brother preachers, boldly speak,
And stand on Zion's wall,
T' revive the strong, confirm the weak,
And after sinners call.

My brother preachers, fare you well,
Your fellowship I love;
In time no more I shall you see
But soon we'll meet above.

The Dying Minister 83b, Stanza 5

My little children near my heart,
And nature seems to bind,
It grieves me sorely to depart,
And leave you all behind.

O Lord, a father to them be,
And keep them from all harm,
That they may love and worship thee,
And dwell upon thy charms.

My loving wife, my bosom friend,
The object of my love,
The time's been sweet I've spent with you,
My sweet and harmless dove.

My loving wife, don't grieve for me,
Neither lament nor mourn;
For I shall with my Jesus be,
When you are left alone.

How often you have look'd for me,
And ofttimes seen me come;
But now I must depart from thee,
And never more return.

For I can never come to thee;
Let this not grieve your heart,
For you will shortly come to me,
Where we shall never part.

Walker, William. The Southern Harmony and Musical Companion: Containing a Choice Collection of Tunes, Hymns, Psalms, Odes, and Anthems: Selected from the Most Eminent Authors in the United States: Together with Nearly One Hundred New Tunes, Which Have Never Before Been Published; Suited to Most of the Metres Contained in Watts’s Hymns and Psalms, Mercer’s Cluster, Dossey & Choice, Dover Selection, Methodist Hymn Book, and Baptist Harmony; and Well Adapted to Christian Churches of Every Denomination, Singing Schools, and Private Societies; Also, an Easy Introduction to the Grounds of Music, the Rudiments of Music, and Plain Rules for Beginners. Revised Edition. Philadelphia: E. W. Miller, 1854.